Michelin Challenge Design 2016 Announces 14 Winners

By: | September 17th, 2015

Michelin’s yearly Challenge Design winners for 2016 were announced last week. The theme this year was “Mobility for All — Designing the Next Frontier.” The winners were announced September 3, 2015, and winners will display their designs at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) awards ceremony in Detroit in January 2016.

According to the rules, the 2016 challenge was to “design a personal, family, or commercial vehicle that provides simple, functional, and affordable mobility to an underserved area in Southeast Asia, Central America, Central Africa, or an area that you identify.”

I. First Place:

Rajshekhar Dass, Abu Huraira Shaikh, Sunny Duseja, Joji Isaac, Saksham Karunakar and Tajeshwar Kaul of Pune, India, won first place for their design entry “Google Community Vehicle”

  • Second place: Edgar Andres Sarmiento Garcia of Bogota, Colombia, for design entry “Arriero”
  • Third place: WooSung Lee and Chan Yeop Jeong of Gyeongsan-si, South Korea, for design entry “Bamboo Recumbent”

Additional winners of the 2016 Michelin Challenge Design are (in alphabetical order):

  • Nathan Allen of Redding, Calif., for design entry “Stator Scooter”
  • M.Y. Alief Samboro and Agri Bisono of Malang, Indonesia, for design entry “LOGon”
  • Sergio Botero of Medellin, Colombia, for design entry “Capicua”
  • Nicholas Lee Dunderdale of the United Kingdom, for design entry “Panda”
  • Ryan Ebbers of Newmarket, Ontario, for design entry “DMine”
  • Mike Lai, Joe Wu and Johnny Li of Taipei, Taiwan, for design entry “M-Clinic”
  • Hung-Ju Lee of Taiwan, for design entry “Loxodon”
  • Conner Macfarlane and Collin Lafayette of Ore., and Danville, Calif., (respectively) for design entry “URRU”
  • Armando Mercado of Mexico City, Mexico, for design entry “Tire Assembly is Required”
  • Marin Myftiu, Hussain Almossawi and Huracan Motors of Tirana, Albania; Manama, Bahrain; and Venice, Italy (respectively), for design entry “Huracan City Rover”
  • Arkadiusz Stoklosa, Michal Maciukiewicz and Thomasz Kwolek of Tarnobrzeg, Krakow and Mielec, Poland (respectively), for design entry “Volkswagen Monsoon”
David Russell Schilling

David enjoys writing about high technology and its potential to make life better for all who inhabit planet earth.

More articles from Industry Tap...